Home » Women's Soccer » CONCACAF Women’s Championship 2018: USA And Canada Final
CONCACAF Women_s Championship 20181

CONCACAF Women’s Championship 2018: USA And Canada Final

Rose Lavelle and Alex Morgan lifted the United States over Canada for the Concacaf Women’s Championship 2018 title.

Rose Lavelle was congratulated by her teammates after scoring USA’s goal within the first two minutes against Canada in the Concacaf Women’s Championship Final at the Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas, on October 17, 2018.

Alex Morgan scored in the 89th minute to lift the United States to a 2-0 victory over Canada and to the 2018 Concacaf Women’s Championship title.

The Americans, who won their eighth confederation crown, finished the competition with a 5-0-0 mark while outscoring their opponents 26-0. This was Jill Ellis’s second victory as manager, equaling Anson Dorrance’s and April Heinrichs’ records.

Rose Lavelle celebrating

As in their previous four games, the Americans scored their first goal in the opening nine minutes to take the lead and put their foes on their backfoot.

Midfielder Lindsey Horan, who secured National Women’s Soccer League MVP honors while performing for the Portland Thorns, started the scoring sequence with a left-wing feed to the middle of the box. The ball was deflected to Lavelle, who drilled the ball past goalkeeper Stephanie Labbe into the lower right corner for her third goal of the tournament.

Morgan gave the USA some breathing room in the 89th minute. Megan Rapinoe sent a corner kick into the box that was headed out by a Canadian defender to Horan.

She tapped the ball to Crystal Dunn, who fed Morgan in front of the net, and the striker slipped home her tournament-leading seventh goal from four yards. It also was Morgan’s 97th international goal.

Live TV & On Demand Soccer Streaming

  • Watch Premier League And Euro Leagues
  • On Any Device. Anytime. Anywhere
  • Stream Live, Rewind Or Replay 
  • No Contracts, No Long Term Commitments

CONCACAF Women’s Championship 2018 Awards

At the Concacaf Women’s Championship 2018, Julie Ertz was named the Golden Ball winner. In the final, the Americans defeated Canada 2-0.

Alex Morgan, who scored seven goals at the tournament, won the Golden Boot as the top goal scorer. A Fair Player Award was also given to the USWNT.

The Golden Glove Award was given to Panama’s 17-year-old goalkeeper Yenith Bailey, while Jamaican forward Jody Brown was selected as the outstanding young player.

Eight Americans were on the Best XI, including goalkeeper Alyssa Naeher, defender Kelley O’Hara, midfielder Lindsey Horan, forward Tobin Heath, and forward Megan Rapinoe.

concacaf women_s championship 2018 winners usa

The team also included Yenith Bailey as the Best XI goalkeeper from Panama. Rebecca Quinn and Jessie Fleming from Canada were also selected in the best eleven.

The USA and Canada qualified for the FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019 after winning their semi-finals. The Jamaica women’s soccer team qualified for their first World Cup after defeating Panama in a penalty shoot-out in the Third place play-off match. Panama entered CONCACAF–CONMEBOL play-off versus Argentina.

The Women’s Championship 2018 was the last CONCACAF tournament to be branded as such. The CONCACAF W Championship was rebranded in August 2019 by CONCACAF.

About The Author