Home » Clubs » Estudiantes de La Plata: The Los Pincharratas
Estudiantes de La Plata players celebrating a goal

Estudiantes de La Plata: The Los Pincharratas

After waiting more than fifty years, Estudiantes de La Plata won their first domestic and international trophies. This represented a watershed moment in Argentinian soccer, as El Pincha becomes the first of the country’s “lesser lights” to make a mark on the world stage.

Throughout the 1960s, the unglamorous Estudiantes de La Plata team harvested silverware that revolutionized soccer tactics. However, Pincharrata’s impact makes the country’s soccer fans still divided between two opposing camps.

  1. Those who favor the tactical over the technical.
  2. Those who view the player’s freedom on the pitch as the essence of the game.

Carlos Bilardo

Carlos Salvador Bilardo, the coach who led Argentina to the title at the 1986 FIFA World Cup Mexico and a runner-up spot four years later in Italy. As Argentina’s manager, Carlos Bilardo was renowned for deploying the 3–5–2 formation to the best of his ability. He was one of the prodigal sons of the side that defeated Manchester United to become world champions in 1968. He had four spells managing Estudiantes de La Plata. First in 1971, then 1973-76, in 1982-83, and 2003-04.

With 467 league appearances between 1972 and 1988, Abdul Ernesto Herrera holds the record for the most league appearances. The short-statured and highly skilled Herrera was nicknamed ‘Titi’ by his teammates. Throughout his professional career, he only played for Estudiantes.

Manuel Pelegrina

Record goalscorer Manuel Pelegrina began his soccer career with Estudiantes de La Plata in 1938. He played until the club was relegated in 1952 when he left to join Club Atlético Huracán. Manuel Pellegrina only played one season with Club Atlético Huracán before returning to Estudiantes. Pelegrina played for Argentina several times, including the 1945 South American Championships, where he scored two goals for his nation.

Formation Of Estudiantes de La Plata

Estudiantes de La Plata began in 1905 when a group of university students from La Plata, frustrated by the lack of opportunities to play the sport they loved, decided to start their own team. They met that night at a shoe store in the city center and established Club Atlético Estudiantes, which adopted its current name ‘Estudiantes de La Plata’ thirty years later.

A few of the founders were also Gimnasia y Esgrima La Plata players, who would become Estudiantes’ arch-rivals over time. In honor of the Alumni who had won ten championships between 1900 and 1911, Estudiantes de La Plata adopted a jersey design with red and white stripes in 1906.

Club Estudiantes de La Plata Facts

Home City: La Plata

Founded: 4 August 1905

Club Honours:

  • 5 Argentine league championships (1967, 1982, 1983, 2006, 2010)
  • 4 Copa Libertadores de América (1968, 1969, 1970, 2009)
  • 1 Intercontinental Cup (1968)
  • 1 Copa Interamericana (1968)

Legendary Players: Mariano Andújar, Carlos Bilardo, José Luis Brown, Julián Camino, Manuel Ferreira, Eduardo Flores, Patrício Hernández, Enrique Guaita, Abel Ernesto Herrera, Ricardo Infante, Rubén Madero, Óscar Malbernat, Gabriel Ogando, Carlos Pachamé, Rúben Pagnanini, Manuel Pellegrina, Alberto Poletti, José Daniel Ponce, Miguel Ángel Russo, Alejandro Sabella , Ramón Aguirre Suárez, Juan Ramón Verón (Snr), Juan Sebastián Verón (Jnr), Alberto Zozaya.

Club Records:

  • Manuel Pellegrina – 235 goals
  • Abel Ernesto Herrera – 467 appearances

Official Website: https://www.estudiantesdelaplata.com/


We aim for accuracy and fairness in everything we do. We'd like to hear from you if you see anything wrong! Click here to contact us! The content on The History Of Soccer is reviewed and updated regularly to make sure it is accurate and up to date.

historyofsoccer.info Scroll to Top