Ballon d’Or

The Ballon d’Or is an annual football award presented by France Football. It has been awarded since 1956, except for 2020, and is considered one of the most prestigious individual awards in football.

The award is presented to the best male football player in the world over the previous calendar year, as voted on by a panel of international journalists.

The award was initially known as the Ballon d’Or Europe, but in 1995 it was expanded to include players from around the world. Throughout its history, the Ballon d’Or has been won by some of the greatest players ever to play the game, including Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Luka Modric.