Home » Facts » 1890 FA Cup Final: Blackburn Rovers 6 Sheffield Wednesday 1
1890 FA Cup Pamphlet

1890 FA Cup Final: Blackburn Rovers 6 Sheffield Wednesday 1

1890 FA Cup Final Score: Blackburn Rovers 6 Sheffield Wednesday 1

Venue: Kennington Oval

Date: Saturday 29th March 1890

Scorers: Blackburn Rovers – Walton, John Southworth, Lofthouse, Townley 3. Sheffield Wednesday – Bennett

Blackburn Rovers Team: Johnny K Horne; James Southworth, John Forbes, John Barton, Geordie Dewar, Jimmy Forrest, Jo Lofthouse, Harry Campbell, Jack Southworth, Nat Walton William Townley

Sheffield Wednesday Team: Jim Smith, Teddy Brayshaw, Haydn Money, Jack Dungworth, Billy Betts, George Waller, Billy Ingram, Harry Woodhouse, Michael Bennett, Albert Mumford, Tom Cawley

Referee: Major Francis Marindin

Attendance: 20,000

1890 FA Cup Final Match Report

The 1890 FA Cup Final produced a first-ever ‘Battle of the Roses’. Yorkshire was represented by Sheffield Wednesday, making their first appearance at the Oval, and Lancashire by Blackburn Rovers, winners of three successive FA Cup Finals there in the middle eighties.

Blackburn Rovers included only three survivors from their Cup-winning sides — Forrest, Lofthouse, and Walton – but. with no fewer than nine inter¬nationals now in their ranks, they were considered to be even more powerful than before.

Sheffield Wednesday’s players were all English, in fact all local products, and they came down to London hoping to emulate the purely local West Bromwich team that had put paid to Preston’s hopes three years earlier.

For poor Sheffield Wednesday, however, the Final was nothing less than traumatic. Instead of being inspired by the occasion, they found it al¬together too much for them and were nervous from the start. Rovers romped away with the Cup and notched six goals into the bargain. No Final team has scored more.

The Blackburn Rovers forwards were in great form, outside-left Townley scoring three times to set another record that has never been beaten in a Final. Walton. Southworth and Lofthouse got the other Blackburn goals and Mumford was on target for Wednesday.

1890 FA Cup Round By Round

First Round

Preston North End v Newton Heath 6-1; Lincoln City v Chester 2-0; Bolton Wanderers v Belfast Distillery 10-1; Sheffield United v Burnley 2-1; SHEFFIELD WEDNESDAY v Swifts 6-1; Accrington S v West Bromwich Albion 3-1; Notts County v Birmingham St George’s 4-4, 6-2; South Shore v Aston Villa 2-4; Bootle v Sunderland Albion 1 Derby Midland v Nottingham Forest 3-0; BLACKBURN ROVERS v Sunderland 4-2; Newcastle West End v Grimsby Town 1 -2; Wolves v Old Carthusians 2-0; Small Heath v Clapton 3-1; Stoke v Old Westminsters 3-0; Everton v Derby County 11 -2

Second Round

PNE v Lincoln C 4-0; Bolton Wand v Sheff Utd 13-0; SHEFF WED v Accrington S 2-1; Notts Co v Aston Villa 4-1; Bootle v Derby Midland 2-1; BLACKBURN R v Grimsby T 3-0; Wolves v Small Heath 2-1; Stoke v Everton 4-2

Third Round

PNE v Bolton Wand 2-3; SHEFF WED v Notts Co 2-1; Bootle v BLACKBURN R 0-7; Wolves v Stoke 3-2

1890 FA Cup Semi-Final’s

Bolton Wanderers v SHEFFIELD WEDNESDAY 1-2; BLACKBURN ROVERS v Wolverhampton Wolves 1-0

We aim for accuracy and fairness in everything we do. We'd like to hear from you if you see anything wrong! Click here to contact us! The content on The History Of Soccer is reviewed and updated regularly to make sure it is accurate and up to date.

History Of Soccer Scroll to Top